Follow

Open a file as Read Only in File Manager

File Manager now allows any User who has access to your Agrimaster or Wagemaster file(s) to open them in Read Only mode. This means, when they open your file via File Manager and attempt to make edits or additions, these changes will not be save to File Manager.

This new feature can be accessed in the File Details screen via Open file. Open file now provides a drop down arrow with two options:

  1. Open file - Edit (this feature allows Users to add or edit data to the file)

  2. Open file - Read Only (this feature allows Users to view data only, any changes made will NOT save)

The default option in File Manager is Open file, which allows you to open the file editing purposes. If the file is already open elsewhere, the system automatically opens the file as Read Only. mceclip7.png

If you have chosen to open a file in Read Only mode, the below prompt will show. It indicates you are about to open a file in Read Only mode, any changes you make to the file will not save to File Manager. mceclip8.png
Prior to the file opening, the Open file - Read Only prompt will ask you to confirm by clicking in the checkbox “I understand and wish to Proceed”. Now click on the blue button, Open- Read Only.
mceclip9.png 
When you open a file from File Manager using the Open file – Read Only mode, the Agrimaster file will also indicate, the file is open bold red lettering”READ ONLY FILE” in all main menu screens (see below):
 mceclip10.png
 In READ ONLY FILE mode, you can view data and run reports in Agrimaster as per normal. But, if you changes to the file, these will NOT be saved or backed up to File Manager.

This file is opened in a temporary location and will be cleared when File Manager is closed.

Other Users who have access to the file, will not see any indications that the file is opened by you in Read Only mode. Therefore, they can continue as usual and work on the file.

Even if another User has uploaded a newer version of the file, the Read Only version you have open will not be updated.

Upon closing the Read Only file, no record is added on to the File Manager history.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments