What you need to know before you get started:
- All .agm files that have been shared with you before File Manager will be migrated from m:drive - the access you have to these files will not change with File Manager.
- Any files that have been shared with you where you have ‘Share only’ access will not be uploaded to File Manager – these could be files that you have created or are not your client's files.
- Backup is automatic in File Manager – an Internet Connection is required to use File Manager & you must be logged in
File Manager automatically backs up Agrimaster files when you exit Agrimaster – backup to File Manager can only happen if you are connected to the internet and logged in.
As the backup is automatic in File Manager, you no longer need to manually backup for clients to see the changes.
- Please see this article to understand the file structure with File Manager - How File Manager Works
Providing you are connected to the internet File Manager will connect to the Mastergroup server and do the following:File Manager will attempt to upload and download files
- Files are uploaded if the local version of the file is newer than the version on the server, or if there is no version of that file on the server.
- Files are downloaded if the local version of the file is older than the version on the server, or if there is no version of that file on the server.
- Files are matched if they have the same filename and owner (user number).
- File Manager takes time zones into account when determining if a file is newer or older.
You will need to decide within your firm whether you want to change the way you work with user numbers. If you decide to change the way you work, you will need to let your clients know as they may need to change their file sharing settings.
One firm/office with one user number
- If multiple partners need access to the same file/s, it is much easier if they share a user number
- Each time your password is changed, you'll need to inform any other Agrimaster users at your firm
- Any files that have been shared with your user number will be downloaded onto any computer that your user number is logged into
- You will not be able to track which partner has edited files
Each partner has their own user number
- You have your own password
- You are the only partner who can make edits to your client files
- Only files you have access to will be downloaded onto your computer
- You can only see what has been shared with you