Follow

Asset Classification

A classification is an additional level of detail that can be added to the asset register to assist with sorting of assets for reporting.

Add a Classification

To add a classification:

  1. Ensure you are on the Set Asset Details window 
  2. Click the classification Edit  button to open the Asset List window 

  3. Select Enter New Class in the Choose Class to Modify dialogue box
  4. Enter the new classification in the Class Name
  5. Click the green tick  to save the new entry
  6. Click the black cross  to return to the Set Asset Details window

Edit a Classification

To edit a classification:

  1. Ensure you are on the Set Asset Details window 

  2. Click the Edit  button to open the Asset List window 

     

  3. Click on the dropdown arrow to select the class to modify in the Choose Class to Modify field
  4. Make the changes in the Edit Class dialogue box
  5. Click the green tick  to save the changes
  6. Click the black cross  to exit and return to the Set Asset Details window

Deactivate a Classification

Once a classification has been used in the Asset Register, it cannot be deleted.  It is possible to remove it from the dropdown menu but you cannot remove it from the Asset Register.  

To make a classification inactive:

  1. Ensure you are on the Set Asset Details window 

  2. Open the Asset List by clicking on the Edit  button
  3. Select the class you wish to deactivate from the Choose Class to Modify dropdown box 

  4. Uncheck the Is Active? checkbox
  5. Click the green tick  to save the changes
  6. Click the black cross  to close the window and return to the Set Asset Details window.

Delete a Classification

A classification can only be deleted if it has not been used as an asset detail. 

To delete a classification:

  1. Click the classification Edit  button on the Set Asset Details window to open the Asset List window
  2. Display the classification to remove in the Choose Classification to Modify
  3. Click the Delete  button to remove the entry
  4. Click the green tick  to save the changes
  5. Click black cross  to exit and return to the Set Asset Details window
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments